vastdoor.blogg.se

Tyrian 2000 review
Tyrian 2000 review













tyrian 2000 review

And I’m guessing this is because it was never developed as an arcade game with a focus on eating your money. There is actually a story going on here which is unusual for a shmup. Finally, Tyrian 3.0, or Tyrian 2000, was released in 1999 and contained an additional fifth episode along with new ships and bug fixes. It also added a Christmas Mode which activates if you play the game in December. Tyrian 2.0 added an additional fourth episode, a two-player mode, new ships and weapons and even a new game mode, Super Tyrian.

tyrian 2000 review

Tyrian 2000 review full#

Eventually Tyrian 1.1 was released with three episodes, a ship editor and was basically a full game.

tyrian 2000 review

I didn’t really get the chance to play it until now but I’m sure as hell glad that I did because it’s a perfect example of a great shmup with high replay value that doesn’t just rely on memorization.ĭeveloped by World Tree Games, the original Tyrian was a DOS game released in 1995 as shareware containing only the first episode. A little while ago Tyrian 2000 was released on GOG as a free game and naturally I added it to my collection. It wasn’t until a few years ago that I really got into the genre and now I’m always on the lookout for a great shmup. Especially because many of them are hard as hell and require serious memorization. Of course I played some but they never held my attention long enough to keep me coming back. Growing up I never really played a lot of shoot-em-up games, or “shmups” as we call them.















Tyrian 2000 review